Studio Hacks 2: Travel Watercolor Kit

watercolorkit

This is a portable watercolor kit I made from items I already had. This kit is based off of this kit I saw on instructables.

Materials needed to make a travel watercolor kit.

Materials needed to make a travel watercolor kit.

The materials I gathered are: White acrylic paint, Altoid mint container, an empty Dentyne gum pack (inside) and Kitchen/Bath silicone (I used clear).

Inside of Altoid's tin with several coats of white acrylic paint

Inside of Altoid’s tin with several coats of white acrylic paint

I painted the inside of the tin and cover with several coats of the white acrylic paint. This should prevent the cover from rusting. The inside of the cover can be used to hold water or for mixing which is what I use it for. The white allows me to see the true colors as I mix.

Silicon added to set paint holder into tin.

Silicon added to set paint holder into tin.

The gum holder will hold the paints. After the blue wrapper has been removed I put silicone on the bottom of the tin and on the bottom of the empty gum packet. The paint holder is then placed into the tin.

silicone_seal

 

A bead of silicon is then placed around the paint holder to seal it in to prevent water from getting under the paint holder.

Kit with paints and brush.

Kit with paints and brush.

I used what paints I had on hand. I had some tubes of paint that had hardened in the tube. I cut the tubes open and added some water to soften them up and transferred the paints to the “pans.” I then cut a brush to fit in the cover of the kit when the cover is closed.

The Author's travel watercolor kits.

The Author’s travel watercolor kits.

I already have a great travel watercolor kit, above on the left. A Windsor Newton kit that I’ve used for years. What I like about my new kit is that I can put it in my shirt pocket when I don’t have room for my other kit.

Leave a comment

Filed under Painting, Studio Hacks, Watercolor painting

Leave a Reply

