Screen Printing—First Time

Book-and-posters-together

I’ve done my own printing off and on for over 25 years. The process I’ve used up until yesterday is lino-cuts or relief printing. The Graphic Design program I teach at just added some screen printing equipment. My colleagues and I practiced using the equipment prior to fall semester.

Original sketch of Visual Pun #3 .

Original sketch of Visual Pun #3 .

For those who follow my blog you’ll recognize the image I choose to make poster size as Visual Pun #3: Bowl Movement. Notice the lack of shadowing on the original sketch. I scan the original and add the tonal values later in Photoshop.

Poster of VP #3. Size is approximately 9.5x13 inches.

Poster of VP #3. Size is approximately 9.5×13 inches. Print run of 50.

I was fortunate enough to have Jason and Sean walk me through the process for the first time. I was impressed withe amount of detail and the crispness of image.

I think that printing in a less forgiving medium such as Lino-cuts and doing it in reverse helped me visualize what I wanted to achieve. The key is to keep it simple for the first time. Try to see your image in black and white, strong contrasts. This first attempt gave me a lot of information on what my limitations are and how much I can push the medium for future projects.

Original sketch (L). Screen printed poster of sketch (R).

Original sketch (L). Screen printed poster of sketch (R).

I scanned the original sketch and converted it to vector art (eps) using Adobe Illustrator. Vector art allows for crisp lines while resizing  and printing the art to vellum for transfer to the printing screens.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Bismarck State College, Illustrations, Posters, Visual Pun

Leave a Reply

